Falken Motorsport claim historic one-two win in the VLN Endurance Championship

Posted on 4th September 2018

The Falken Motorsport team soared to victory at the 41st RCM DMV Grenzlandrennen in their Porsche 911 GT3 R. Drivers Klaus Bachler and Martin Ragginger pipped teammates and race rivals Stef Dusseldorp and Alexandre Imperatori in their BMW M6 GT3. This was the first one-two win in the VLN for the team of the Japanese tyre manufacturer which they will be hoping to repeat in Round 7, the 58th ADAC Reinoldus-Langstreckenrennen, on September 22 nd .

Bachler went into the lead ahead of pole sitter David Pittard in the BMW M6 GT3 and the second lap, he secured himself a place in the history books by setting a new VLN lap record with a time of 7:56.259 minutes. “That was quite a perfect lap”, Austrian driver Bachler said with a smile on his face. “Everything has to be perfect to achieve this. On the last metres, I was lucky that I managed to pass the slowest cars already at Döttinger Höhe whilst my rivals still had suffered with the traffic at Tiergarten.”

Falken Soar To First One Two Win In VLN Championship

Aside from Dusseldorp and Imperatori in the sister car, Sheldon van der Linde and Jeffrey Schmidt in the Audi R8 LMS were the only drivers to come anywhere close to rivalling the performance of the Falken Motorsport team. In lap 15, the leading car of Land Motorsport had tyre damage issues, preventing them from winning the race overall. “We would of course have been delighted to win the race”, said Dusseldorp. “And the team had allowed us to push to the maximum. But finally, the Porsche was simply faster. From the team’s perspective, the one-two win is the most important. And we are extremely pleased with our result.”

The Lamborghini drivers were relieved to take 3 rd place after some unfortunate incidents and bad luck in previous rounds. “At last, a result in the top three”, said Brück. “This could well have happened already in VLN race three, four or five. Unfortunately, we had a smaller or bigger problem every time so that it is only today that we were able to score that deserved result.

Leading the way outside of the top three, Steve Jans, Marek Böckmann, Philip Hamprecht and Adam Osieka drove the fastest GT3-Premium class car. The Porsche 911 GT3 R of the GIGASPEED Team GetSpeed Performance finished in fourth place.

Taking the chequered flag in fifth place was the Team AutoArena Motorsport in their Mercedes-AMG GT3, followed by the Frikadelli Racing Team (Porsche) and Walkenhorst Motorsport (BMW). The two H&R-Spezialfedern teams took eighth and ninth places and the final place in the top ten was taken by Ralf Schall, who celebrated in class H4 at the same time his 101st class win with Christopher Gerhard, in the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (997).

So how do these results impact the top of the standings?

Christian Kohlhaas and Stephan Köhler moved into the championship lead by claiming their sixth victory in the sixth race. Whilst the Ferrari duo was victorious, unfortunately the leaders going into the sixth round of the VLN Endurance Championship, Norbert Fischer, Christian Konnerth and Daniel Zils were forced to retire their Porsche Cayman from Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport after just six laps.

Håkon Schjærin, Atle Gulbrandsen and Kenneth Østvold claimed their second successive victory in the TCR class in their Audi RS 3 LMS. Østvold marked his tenth, class win, with Formula 1 commentator Gulbrandsen celebrating his 14th and Schjærin his 23rd. Benedikt Gentgen, Martin Pischinger and Lukas Thiele in another Seat entered by FEV Racing moved into third position.

The seventh round of the VLN endurance championship Nürburgring gets underway in three weeks, on September 22 nd . The 58 th ADAC Reinoldus-Langstreckenrennen will run over the traditional distance of four hours.

Back To Blog »
© Copyright 2024 Micheldever Group LtdWeb Design By Toolkit Websites